In the 10th and 11th centuries monks arrived in these high lands of Navarre, lands of lush green meadows and transparent waters, and fought relentlessly to develop the area. They dedicated themselves to building canals and bridges, which is where the name ur eta zubi came from (water and bridges). Thanks to their enterprise, and the mill, they were able to forge iron and mill their grain
However, the splendour of the monastery would not be eternal, as its proximity to the French frontier made it a target for pillaging and fires. Despite this, the mill managed to remain in perfect condition until it was rebuilt in the 18th century, and it was not until this time that it started serving the local farmhouses. The miller used to receive a 'saskito' (dues) in payment for his work.
Today, visitors have the chance to step back in time and watch the mill operating. The water exerts its force on the huge stone "teeth" which move with precision to produce wheat and corn flour with each turn. You can easily imagine our ancestors, the millers, toiling away to extract the flour from the grain, which was then used in numerous ways.
The tour also includes the cloister of the Romanesque monastery of San Salvador
and the old electrical generator, now in disuse, which provided electricity to Urdazubi/Urdax and neighbouring Ainhoa from 1901.
As well as strolling through this enchanting town bordering the canal that runs through it, lined with magnificent mansion houses, do not miss the chance to explore the Ikaburu caves
in the Leorlas neighbourhood where beautiful geological formations and flint remains remind us they were inhabited many thousands of years ago by humans.